ICorr Awards

Detailed below are the awards presented by the Insititute of Corrosion, if you would like information on how to nominate someone for any of these awards please contact us.

Dr Peter Andresen (General Electric) received the 2014 U R Evans Award at the Museum of Science and Industry, Manchester

Paul McIntyre Award

The Institute of Corrosion’s Corrosion Engineering Division is pleased to announce the establishment of a new award called the Paul McIntyre award. 

Background on Paul (provided by Douglas Mills , Technical Secretary) 

Dr Paul McIntyre graduated from the University of Newcastle upon Tyne with a 1st class honours degree. He spent his early career in the steel industry. In 1978 he moved south and joined the Central Electricity Research Laboratories in Leatherhead as group leader of EAC studying stress corrosion, localised corrosion and corrosion fatigue in conventional and nuclear power plants. Later he was involved in asset management and remaining life assessment of components including development of remedial methodologies such as RAM (reliability, availability and maintainability) and RCM (reliability centred maintenance). From 1996 until 2006 he was Editor or the British Corrosion Journal (which became CEST). For six years from about 2004 until 2010 he worked as consultant in the electrochemistry and corrosion group at NPL. His scientific insight and depth of engineering experience was critical to successful analysis of a wide range of failure investigations including fracture of wind turbine bolts, corrosion pitting in a desalination plant as well as providing informed corrosion control guidance to industry. Paul wrote almost 60 published papers and over 200 internal reports. In addition to his career in industry Paul had almost thirty years of participation in corrosion standardisation within BSI and ISO committees. These included being past chair of ISO/NFE 8 Corrosion of metals and alloys, and UK representative on the equivalent ISO committee TC 156 and within that being secretary of WG2 Stress Corrosion Cracking and member of WG 7 Accelerated Corrosion Tests. He made an immense contribution as Scientific Secretary of the EFC. He was also on the Council of the Institute of Corrosion from the early 2000s specializing in standards work and pan European activities. In 2003 Paul was awarded the T B Marsden prize of IOM3 for his considerable achievements in promoting standards, education and publishing in corrosion and materials. The chair of ISO TC 156 stated at the award citation “Paul has provided more input into the development of ISO standards in the corrosion field than any other individual”. Paul was invariably polite and accommodating to everybody. But he had core of steel and dry sense of humour. In 2010 he was diagnosed with secondary liver cancer and very sadly passed away in 2012. 

Elegibility for Award 

This Paul McIntyre award will be presented to a senior corrosion engineer, who, as well as being a leading practitioner in his field, has advanced European collaboration and international standards development (in keeping with Paul’s areas of interest). The criteria for the recipient of this award are as follows: 

• They have established an international 
 reputation in the field of corrosion 

• They have demonstrably advanced European 
 collaboration and international standards 
 development in the field of corrosion 

• They must be living and working in the 
 European corrosion community.

• They must be a member of a corrosion-
 related body in the European area (e.g. 
 NACE UK, The Institute of Materials, or the 
 Institute of Corrosion, or another European 
 corrosion society). 

• They must not be a current member of the 
 Council of the Institute of Corrosion. 

• They must be aged over 30. 

Procedure for nomination 

The procedure for selecting the recipient of the Paul McIntyre award will be the same as for the U R Evans award, namely there will be a standing invitation for anyone to submit nominations to the CED chair. The award will alternate between a UK-based recipient and a Europe-based recipient. The CED chair will be responsible for maintaining a rolling shortlist of candidates (typically between 5 and 10) and the selection committee, consisting of the CED Working Group chairs and the Institute’s Technical Secretary, will vote on the nominations each year and propose them to Council for approval. 

Nature of the award

The award will consist of a certificate and something along the lines of an engraved shield or medal, which will be presented either at the Institute’s AGM, or the annual CED working day meeting. In addition, the recipient will be requested and encouraged 
to prepare an article for publication in Corrosion Management. 

Competition for Design of the award 

The exact nature of the award itself has not yet been fixed . Hence we would like to run a competition for the design among the membership if the Institute of Corrosion. Please send any entries to the chair of the corrosion engineering division, Nick Smart (nick.smart@amecfw.com) by 31 August 2016. The winner will be chosen by the Council of the Institute and will be awarded free entry to two CED working day meetings.


U R Evans Award

The Award is the premier scientific award of the Institute of Corrosion. This was first awarded in 1976 and is made for outstanding international achievements in pure or applied corrosion science. The recipient is selected by a CSD panel and presented with a mounted sword on an engraved plaque at the annual Corrosion Science Symposium. The recipient also receives an Honorary Life Fellowship of the Institute.

Nominations should be submitted via email to the CSD Chair. A list of past recipients is available here.

T P Hoar Prize

Dr Hoar was the first recipient of the U R Evans Award and the prize in his memory is awarded by a sub-committee of the CSD for the best paper published each year in Corrosion Science.

A list of past recipients is available here.

Galloway Award

This award was created in 1998 in memory of Jack Galloway, a founder member of the British Association of Corrosion Engineers (BACE) from which the Institute of Corrosion derived, to encourage contributions from students working in any area of corrosion science and corrosion engineering.

Students are invited to submit a short technical article discussing their work for consideration for the award. This should be 3000-5000 words in length and may include figures as appropriate. The winning article will be published in Corrosion Management, and the prize consists of a certificate and a cheque for £250. The Institute does not retain copyright of the material, so this does not prevent subsequent publication of the work in a scientific journal if students wish to offer a snapshot of an ongoing project, or work towards a thesis.

The winner is also invited to present their work at the annual Corrosion Science Symposium. Submissions should be sent via email at any time to the CSD Chair.

Lionel Shreir Award

Dr Shreir was also a recipient of the U R Evans Award and this award is made for the best student presentation at the annual Corrosion Science Symposium. The award consists of a certificate and a cheque for £100.


Honorary Life Fellowship

This is in recognition of many years service to the Institute as a principal officer, or for outstanding contribution in the field of Corrosion Control.

Honorary Life Membership

This is in recognition of many years service to the Institute as a Council or Branch member.

H G Cole Award

This presentation is in the form of a poignard, and is for exceptional services to the development of the Institute.

President’s Plaque

This was introduced by President John O'Shea for outstanding service to the Institute and is given at the discretion of the President.